On WhatsApp, we chat with friends and family every day, send photos and videos and even share our status. But have you ever wondered who can see your profile photo, private chat or status? WhatsApp has many such features, with the help of which you can gain more control over your privacy.
In this messaging app from Meta, you can lock private chats, secure the app with your phone’s fingerprint or Face ID, and even control who can see your profile photo and status. Apart from this, some photos and videos may disappear from the chat after viewing once through the View Once feature. If you want your private conversations and information not to reach more people, definitely check out these 5 settings of WhatsApp.
If you have some chats on WhatsApp that you want to hide from others, Chat Lock can be useful. On turning on this feature, locked chats are removed from the normal chat list and moved to a separate Locked Chats folder. On Android and iPhone, tap and hold or swipe left on the chat you want to lock. After this, go to More options and select the Lock Chat or Unlock Chat option.
On WhatsApp Web and Windows, a chat can also be locked or unlocked by right-clicking on it. When a chat is locked, the other person does not get any information about it. The chat is automatically closed as soon as the phone is locked. If you want, you can also hide the locked chats folder by setting a secret code.
While sending messages on WhatsApp, your profile photo can be seen by others. If you don’t want everyone to see your photo, you can change its privacy settings. In Android, go to More options > Settings > Privacy > Profile photo. Open Settings > Privacy > Profile Photo in iPhone.
Here you can choose who should see your photo among everyone, my contacts, except my contacts… or none. This means that instead of the photo being open to everyone, you can limit it to just your contacts or selected people.
Not only to lock chats, you can also lock the entire WhatsApp app. When the App Lock feature is turned on, opening apps may require a fingerprint, Face ID, Touch ID, or password depending on the phone. Because of this, even if someone gets hold of your phone, they won’t be able to open WhatsApp easily. However, messages or calls can be answered through notifications even if the app is locked.
If you want to send a private photo, video or voice message that the other person can’t see often, you can use the View Once feature. A photo or video sent through this feature disappears from the chat after being viewed. According to WhatsApp, the recipient of such media cannot save it to their photos or gallery and cannot take screenshots or screen recordings.
WhatsApp status is usually shared with your contacts. But not everyone needs to be shown every update. You can set an audience for your status and choose who can see it. People or groups you mention in the status can share it with their audience. You can also mention people whose numbers are not saved in your contact list. So, before posting a status, please check who you are sharing it with.
Also Read- Multiple Functions With One Cable! Can GPMI replace HDMI, know the difference between the two
Your smartphone will come in handy in times of emergency! Follow these steps to turn on Emergency SOS
US President Donald Trump met Chinese President Xi Jinping at the White House on Thursday.…
There is a big update for students studying in Delhi University (DU). The Dean Students…
Allahabad University in India is called 'Oxford of the East'. Allahabad University completed 139 years…
A major update has surfaced regarding Hyundai's new generation Bayon SUV. The company is going…
The conflict that started after the alleged suicide case of B.Tech student Sahil Wakode at…
After the death of second year student Sahil Wakode at IIT Bombay, there is tension…